Iris

WeChat_1434033565 Water Color Iris on Chinese rice paper.  45cm x 45cm.  Signed and unframed.

This iris is found during the late spring time at the community garden at where I stay. When I first saw this flower I didn’t know its name till my wife did a search on Internet. I was excited when I knew it is iris as I love the Iris by Van Gogh. I have seen that actual painting at a private art museum in LA, USA. I spent at least half an hour in front of that painting trying to up held that image in my mind. Now I can visualize how Vincent had painted his iris at his time.  My immediate excitment made me wanted to try doing my owned version of the Iris in oil, but after some days I decided to try it with water color first. And, since I have some Chinese rice paper on hand, I wonder how it will look if I combine water color with some Chinese brush strokes.  So, in the end this is the result.

Leave a Reply

